Spurs striker Harry Kane rounds Watford goalkeeper Heurelho Gomes.
Spurs striker Harry Kane rounds Watford goalkeeper Heurelho Gomes. SEAN DEMPSEY

Chelsea and Tottenham dominate EPL team of the year

CHELSEA and Tottenham Hotspur dominate the PFA Premier League Team of the Year, with four players each in the final XI.

Manchester United, Liverpool and Everton have one player in the side, while Arsenal does not have a single representative in the team, which is voted for by fellow professional footballers.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Alexis Sanchez, both nominated for the PFA Player of the Year award, have not been included in the team, which will be officially unveiled at an award ceremony at the Grosvenor House, London, on April 23.

All four of Tottenham's representatives - Harry Kane, Dele Alli, Kyle Walker and Danny Rose - in the selection are England internationals.

PFA chief executive Gordon Taylor said: "The PFA awards is always a special occasion and one of the biggest nights in football's social calendar.

"For the winners who are honoured at the awards, there can be no greater personal accolade than that of being recognised by your peers; an honour to be cherished."


Goalkeeper: David de Gea (Manchester United)

Defenders: Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur), David Luiz (Chelsea), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur)

Midfielders: Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), N'Golo Kante (Chelsea), Sadio Mane (Liverpool)

Forwards: Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Romelu Lukaku (Everton)