New South Wales Premier Mike Baird
New South Wales Premier Mike Baird LUKAS COCH

Foley says cabinet choice is "payback" for swing

OPPOSITION Leader Luke Foley says the NSW Premier's choice to scrap Ministers for the North Coast, Illawarra, Hunter, Western NSW and Central Coast is "payback" for election swings against the Coalition.

Premier Mike Baird is swearing in his new-look cabinet at Government House this morning following a post-election reshuffle.

READ MORE: New NSW cabinet announced: who made the cut and who got axed

Clarence MP Chris Gulaptis has been named Parliamentary Secretary for the North Coast, with the position downgraded from a ministerial role.

READ MORE: No minister for North Coast, just a parliamentary secretary

"Mike Baird's decision to scrap Ministers for the Hunter, Illawarra, Central Coast, North Coast and Western NSW from his Cabinet today is payback only days after the election," Mr Foley said.

"The decision means that the key regions outside of Sydney will no longer have a voice around the cabinet table.

"Mike Baird has a responsibility to be inclusive and govern for the whole state - including those people who didn't vote for him.

"This decision is nothing other than vindictive and spiteful."

Mr Foley said regional NSW voters were being punished for large swings recorded against the government at the weekend.

READ MORE: Labor or Greens tipped for Lismore, George unlikely

"The fact that Western Sydney has been retained in the Ministry makes the omission of other regions all the more glaring," he said.

"The fact that the Nationals have raised barely a murmur demonstrates their failure to provide a strong voice for regional NSW and stand up to the Liberals.

"The people of the Hunter, Illawarra, Central Coast, North Coast and Western NSW should feel very insulted by today's announcement.

"It is vital that these regions have a voice around the cabinet table - otherwise they will continue to be neglected by this government."


    Mike Baird - Premier, and Minister for Western Sydney

    Troy Grant - Deputy Premier, Justice and Police, Arts, Racing

    Gladys Berejiklian - Treasurer, Industrial Relations

    Adrian Piccoli - Education

    Duncan Gay - Roads, Maritime and Freight, Vice-President of the Executive Council

    Anthony Roberts - Industry, Resources and Energy

    Jillian Skinner - Health

    Andrew Constance - Transport and Infrastructure

    Brad Hazzard - Family and Community Services, Social Housing

    Rob Stokes - Planning

    Dominic - Francis Perrottet - Finance, Services and Property

    Gabrielle Upton - Attorney-General

    Pru Goward - Mental Health, Medical Research, Women, Prevention of Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault

    John Ajaka - Ageing, Disability Services, Multiculturalism

    Stuart Ayres - Trade, Tourism and Major Events, Sport

    Victor Dominello - Innovation and Better Regulation

    John Barilaro - Regional Development, Skills, Small Business

    Paul Toole - Local Government

    Niall Blair - Primary Industries, Lands and Water

    Mark Speakman - Environment, Heritage, Assistant Minister for Planning

    David Elliott - Corrections, Emergency Services, Veterans Affairs

    Leslie Williams - Early Childhood Education, Aboriginal Affairs, Assistant Minister for Education