Queensland Opposition Leader Deb Frecklinton with Tim Nicholls
Queensland Opposition Leader Deb Frecklinton with Tim Nicholls

New LNP leader kisses Nicholls goodbye

FORMER LNP leader Tim Nicholls has been left off the party's new front bench, as his successor Deb Frecklington talks up her revitalised team.

Ms Frecklington confirmed Mr Nicholls had not been offered a shadow minister but would instead be put forward to Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk as the LNP's pick for chairman of the powerful parliamentary crime and corruption committee.

Ms Frecklington's portfolio's will mirror Ms Palaszczuk's trade portfolio and her deputy, Tim Mander, will hold the same treasury responsibilities as Deputy Premier Jackie Trad.

Andrew Powell, in state development, manufacturing, infrastructure and planning and Fiona Simpson, in employment, small business, training and skills development, will round out the LNP's core economic team.

"When elected Liberal National Party leader three days ago, I said Tim and I would push the reset button," Ms Frecklington said.

Opposition Leader Deb Frecklington with her predecessor Tim Nicholls
Opposition Leader Deb Frecklington with her predecessor Tim Nicholls

"Today, I take the first step by unveiling our Shadow Cabinet to keep Labor to account and they will work their butts off to earn back the trust of Queenslanders.

"It is a mix of experience and new faces."

She said her team had been told to earn the trust and respect of Queenslanders in their new jobs.

Ros Bates has also been elevated to a senior role in health, ambulance services and women.

Jarrod Bleijie will oversee education, industrial relations and act as the manager of opposition business.

Up-and-comer David Crisafulli will handle the environment portfolios and has been asked to hone his attacks on Labor and the Greens in that space.

John-Paul Langbroek, who unsuccessfully ran against Ms Frecklington at Tuesday's leadership ballot, will take on the sport, racing, multicultural affairs and Commonwealth Games portfolios.

Ms Frecklington denied this was a junior role for the experienced parliamentarian, arguing Labor's mismanagement of the Eagle Farm track was a key issue.

Full LNP shadow ministry: 

Deb Frecklington: Opposition Leader and Shadow Minister for Trade

Tim Mander: Deputy Opposition Leader and Shadow Treasurer

Andrew Powell: Shadow Minister for State Development, Manufacturing, Infrastructure and Planning

Fiona Simpson: Shadow Minister for Employment, Small Business, Training and Skills Development

Ros Bates: Shadow Minister for Health Ambulance Services and Women

Jarrod Bleijie: Shadow Minister for Education and Industrial Relations, Manager of Opposition Business

David Janetzki: Shadow Attorney-General and Shadow Minister for Justice

Steve Minnikin: Shadow Minister for Transport and Main Roads

Dale Last: Shadow Minister for Natural Resources, Mines and Northern Queensland

Trevor Watts: Shadow Minister for Police, Counterterrorism and Corrective Services

David Crisafulli: Shadow Minister for Environment, Science, the Great Barrier Reef and Tourism

Tony Perrett: Shadow Minister for Agricultural Industry Development and Fisheries and Forestry

Michael Hart: Shadow Minister for Housing, Public Works, Energy, Innovation and Digital Technology

Ann Leahy: Shadow Minister for Local Government

Dr Christian Rowan: Shadow Minister for Communities, Disability Services, Seniors, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships, and the Arts

John-Paul Langbroek: Shadow Minister for Sport and Racing, Multicultural Affairs and the Commonwealth Games

Stephen Bennett: Shadow Minister for Child Safety, Youth, Prevention of Domestic and Family Violence and Veterans

Lachlan Millar: Shadow Minister for Fire, Emergency Services and Volunteers

Sam O'Connor: Shadow Assistant Minister to the Opposition Leader and Shadow Assistant Minister for Youth

Dan Purdie: Shadow Assistant Minister for Treasury

David Batt: Shadow Assistant Minister for State Development

Simone Wilson: Shadow Assistant Minister for Education

Brent Mickelberg: Shadow Assistant Minister for Tourism Industry Development

Rob Molhoek: Chief Opposition Whip

Mark Boothman: Deputy Opposition Whip

Tim Nicholls: Chairman of parliamentary crime and corruption committee