Local surf life savers awarded at Parliament House

TWO local NSW Surf Life Saving Volunteers have been recognised at Parliament House for their exceptional rescue efforts.

Eight Surf Life Saving volunteers from three NSW Surf Clubs have today been formally recognised for their outstanding rescues, during the third Parliamentary Friends of Surf Life Saving of 2015, at Parliament House in Canberra.

A number of Federal ministers and MP's attended the Surf Life Saving Australia (SLSA) event which was co-chaired by Sarah Henderson MP and the Honourable Matt Thistlethwaite MP.

Avan Christie and Rolan Murcott from Evans Head - Casino Surf Life Saving Club, received one of the National Rescue of the Month awards following two separate incidents where four people were rescued from rips at Evans Head Beach and Airforce Beach respectively in April 2015.

Their award was presented by Mr Kevin Hogan, the Federal Member for Page.