Curtis Scott celebrates a try with Storm teammates.
Curtis Scott celebrates a try with Storm teammates.

Storm re-sign premiership winning, future Origin gun

MELBOURNE'S battle to keep the core of their premiership-winning roster together has taken a giant stride forward with Curtis Scott agreeing to a new deal. can reveal the exciting centre will ink a new contract with the Storm for a further three seasons.

Having made his NRL debut in 2016, injuries reduced his time in the top grade before Scott pushed his way back into the side to claim a grand final ring in just his second season of first grade.

Curtis Scott (right) celebrates this year’s grand final win with Cameron Smith.
Curtis Scott (right) celebrates this year’s grand final win with Cameron Smith.

Off-contract next year, the 20-year-old will now be tied to the club until at least the end of 2021.

To cap off the deal, Scott was this week named in the Emerging Blues squad.

The re-signing is a huge coup for the club with the former Australian Schoolboy in the sights of several rival clubs.

While it's a big step in the right direction after recently extending a host of talented youngsters, including Brandon Smith, Brodie Croft and Josh Addo-Carr, the Storm have another four of their 2017 premiership-winning team off-contract in Billy Slater, Cameron Smith, Felise Kaufusi and Tim Glasby.

Another three who featured last season in Ryley Jacks, Tui Kamikamica and Young Tonumaipea are also unsigned beyond next year.

Slater is tipped to retire at the end of 2018, while Kaufusi is the next priority retention target.

With the Storm experiencing a transition in the age of their troops, they've been working hard to safeguard the team for the future.

Cooper Cronk, Jordan McLean and Slade Griffin have left for new clubs in 2018 but the remainder of their premiership-winning squad is in tact.

It's been a busy year for the Storm who have worked tirelessly to lock up their best talents.

Promising halfback Croft is locked down until 2022, while Will Chambers, Kenny Bromwich, Nelson Asofa-Solomona, Joe Stimson, Dale Finucane and Jesse Bromwich also inked new deals earlier this year.