Mike Baird has announced a new cabinet.
Mike Baird has announced a new cabinet. Trevor Veale

New NSW cabinet announced: who made the cut and who got axed

THE New South Wales Government has undergone a cabinet reshuffle that will see TAFE taken out of the education portfolio.

Premier Mike Baird announced the new-look ministerial team at the first Liberal Party room meeting since the election.

Four MPs have been dropped from the cabinet team, with Deputy Liberal Leader Gladys Berejiklian promoted to Treasurer.

MORE BREAKING NEWS: No minister for North Coast

Water Minister Kevin Humphries, Fair Trading Minister Matthew Mason-Cox, Primary Industries Minister Katrina Hodgkinson, Mental Health Minister Jai Rowell were all dumped.

Four new additions to cabinet included Liberal MPs David Elliott, Lesley Williams, Mark Speakman and Niall Blair from the Nationals.

Deputy Premier and Nationals Leader Troy Grant will take over the police portfolio, with former Police Minister Stuart Ayres shifting to Trade, Tourism and Events and maintaining his Sport portfolio.

A new cluster was added to cabinet - Finance, Services and Innovation, which will be led by Minister for Finance, Services and Property Dominic Perrottet.

In a statement released yesterday, Mr Baird reiterated the importance of the vocational education and training sector to the government's promise to create 150,000 new jobs during its second term in office.

He has taken responsibility from TAFE away from the Education Minister, moving it into the hands of Minister for Regional Development, Skills and Small Business John Barilaro.

"The team that Troy (Grant) and I have chosen represents the perfect mix of experience and new talent to take the state forward," Mr Baird said.

"I am particularly proud that Gladys Berejiklian and Gabrielle Upton will become the first women in NSW history to hold the positions of Treasurer and Attorney-General."-APN NEWSDESK


  • Mike Baird - Premier, and Minister for Western Sydney
  • Troy Grant - Deputy Premier, Justice and Police, Arts, Racing
  • Gladys Berejiklian - Treasurer, Industrial Relations
  • Adrian Piccoli - Education
  • Duncan Gay - Roads, Maritime and Freight, Vice-President of the Executive Council
  • Anthony Roberts - Industry, Resources and Energy
  • Jillian Skinner - Health
  • Andrew Constance - Transport and Infrastructure
  • Brad Hazzard - Family and Community Services, Social Housing
  • Rob Stokes - Planning
  • Dominic - Francis Perrottet - Finance, Services and Property
  • Gabrielle Upton - Attorney-General
  • Pru Goward - Mental Health, Medical Research, Women, Prevention of Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault
  • John Ajaka - Ageing, Disability Services, Multiculturalism
  • Stuart Ayres - Trade, Tourism and Major Events, Sport
  • Victor Dominello - Innovation and Better Regulation
  • John Barilaro - Regional Development, Skills, Small Business
  • Paul Toole - Local Government
  • Niall Blair - Primary Industries, Lands and Water
  • Mark Speakman - Environment, Heritage, Assistant Minister for Planning
  • David Elliott - Corrections, Emergency Services, Veterans Affairs
  • Leslie Williams - Early Childhood Education, Aboriginal Affairs, Assistant Minister for Education