WINNERS: The club champions receive their end-of-year trophies at the Lismore Kart Club meeting.
WINNERS: The club champions receive their end-of-year trophies at the Lismore Kart Club meeting. Contributed

Racers reach end of the road at kart club

ABOUT 38 drivers turned out for the final race meeting of the season at the Lismore Kart Club which also included the presentation of both the class and club champions trophies.

In the largest field of the day Cadet 9 class (7-9yrs) with two groups A and B, the racing was close with Kayden Thompson taking the win on the day.

He had perfect results of four wins from four starts ahead of Braith Santin and brother Jake Santin in third. In the B group the winner was Isaac Heming.

In the Cadet 12 class (9-12yrs) two groups were also run both A and B with a field of eight the win went to Kye Suffolk with Zane Wilhelm second and Milo Baff in third.

In the B group the winner was Brody Putsey who will be stepping up to the A group in 2018 allowing his little brother to compete.

In the KA4 junior class there was only three competitors but the racing was close with the eventual winner being Elliott Thompson from Jack Porter and in third Jacob Waller.

In the KA4 Senior group racing was as exciting as it has been all year and the sportsmanship they show after the race.

The winner on the day was Simone Bisgrove with Matthew Neil second and Ross Wilks third. This meeting also saw Mark Wilks having his first meeting in this class against his brother Ross.

In the TAG race three weight groups were amalgamated being light, medium and heavy classes with the light results being Cameron McPherson winning ahead of Emma Harris and Matthew Neil in third.

In the medium weight group the winner was Elwyn Garrard first from Joshua Dagg and the heavy group saw Matthew Bidner winning from Graham Hardy.

At the end of racing the club had a lunch where Santa made a surprise visited to the delight of the younger drivers and then the yearly awards were presented.

The club will now be in recess until the first meeting on February 11.

The Most spectacular crash award for 2017 went to Glenn Wilson.

There were two perpetual races held, and the winners were:

Andrew Thompson Memorial: First Elliott Thompson, second Jack Porter, third Jacob Waller.

The Digger Leeson Shield ( Cadet driver & senior team): In first place was Ronny Baff (cadet) and Emma Harris (Senior). Second place went to Jack McNamara (cadet) and Matt Neil (senior). Third place went to Jacob Scott (cadet) and Cameron McPherson (senior).

The class and club champions were:

Cadet 9 - Kayden Thompson

Cadet 12 - Zane Wilhelm

KA4 Junior - Sam Seccombe

TAG Restricted Light - Cameron McPherson

TAG Restricted Medium - Elwyn Garrard

KA4 Senior Light - Jordan Kingham

KA4 senior Heavy - Garry Wilks

Overall class Champions:

Overall Cadet Champion - Kayden Thompson

Overall Junior Champion - Sam Seccombe

Overall Senior Champion - Jordan Kingham

Overall Club Champion - Jordan Kingham