Brisbane band Sheppard.
Brisbane band Sheppard.

Sheppard leads APRA Music Awards nominations

BRISBANE rockers Sheppard lead this year's APRA Music Award nominations.

The indie pop six-piece, fronted by siblings George, Amy and Emma Sheppard, earned four nominations including Song of the Year for their breakthrough hit Geronimo.

Sia Furler, Dan Sultan and first-time nominees 5 Seconds of Summer are all up for three gongs in the peer-voted awards.

Run by the Australasian Performing Right Association (APRA) and the Australasian Mechanical Copyright Owners Society (AMCOS), the awards were established in 1982 and recognise songwriting, sales and airplay.

YouTube star Troye Sivan is amongst one of the new talents nominated for Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year, but it is a tightly contested category also including Triple J Hottest 100 winner Chet Faker.

Grafton natives the McClymonts have two songs nominated for Country Work of the Year, alongside the Adam Eckersley Band, fronted by Brooke McClymont's husband.

The awards will be hosted by Brian Nankervis on March 24 in Sydney.


2015 APRA Music Awards nominees:

Song of the Year
Bittersweet - Kasey Chambers and Bernard Fanning
Chandelier - Sia 
Geronimo - Sheppard
Kimberley Calling - Dan Sultan
You Ruin Me - The Veronicas

Breakthrough Songwriter of the Year
Chet Faker
The Preatures
5 Seconds of Summer
Troye Sivan
Most Played Australian Work 
Chandelier - Sia       
Geronimo - Sheppard 
Like A Drum -  Guy Sebastian 
She Looks So Perfect- 5 Seconds of Summer 
Swing (Joel Fletcher Remix) - Joel Fletcher feat. Savage

Blues and Roots Work of the Year
Dulcify - Halfway
Get Home - Angus & Julia Stone
Heart Beats Slow - Angus & Julia Stone 
Livin' In The City - John Butler Trio
Window To The Sky - Kim Churchill 
Country Work of the Year
Freedom Rebels - Adam Brand 
Give Her The World - Adam Eckersley Band 
Going Under (Didn't Have To) - The McClymonts 
Here's To You And I - The McClymonts 
One Eye For An Eye - Morgan Evans
Dance Work of the Year
Braveheart - Neon Jungle 
Drop The Game - Flume & Chet Faker
High - Peking Duk Feat. Nicole Millar 
Swing (Joel Fletcher Remix) - Joel Fletcher feat. Savage
Tear It Down - The Aston Shuffle

Pop Work of the Year
Borrow My Heart - Taylor Henderson
Chandelier - Sia       
Geronimo - Sheppard 
Like A Drum - Guy Sebastian
She Looks So Perfect - 5 Seconds of Summer
Rock Work of the Year 
Love You Deserve - Stonefield 
Sucker Punch - Kingswood
The End - The Jezabels 
The Same Man - Dan Sultan
Under Your Skin - Dan Sultan       

Urban Work of the Year
Live It Up - 360 feat. Pez
My Life - Bliss n Eso feat. Ceekay Jones
Price Of Fame - 360 feat. Gossling 
Tightrope - Illy feat. Scarlett Stevens 
Won't Let You Down - The Hilltop Hoods feat Maverick Sabre 
International Work of the Year
Happy - Pharrell Williams                       
Rather Be - Clean Bandit feat. Jess Glynne 
Rude - Magic!
Stay With Me - Sam Smith
The Monster - Eminem feat Rihanna