Letters to the Editor

Sun 12 May 2019

OPINION: I can do without watching a would-be PM cry

premium_icon OPINION: I can do without watching a would-be PM cry

I am not remotely interested in Mr Shorten's family, what his parents were or how they lived.

Fri 10 May 2019

‘This is what we feel when they walk out the door’

‘This is what we feel when they walk out the door’

"AS A partner of an interstate heavy vehicle driver my biggest fear every time he walks out the door is he won’t be coming home again."

Wed 8 May 2019

Fix our dangerous road where someone was killed, or we will

Fix our dangerous road where someone was killed, or we will

THE Nimbin community is still reeling after a fatal hit-and-run, and have vowed to take action unless Lismore City Council fixes the road.

Mon 6 May 2019

AN OPEN LETTER: If we kill the oceans we kill ourselves

premium_icon AN OPEN LETTER: If we kill the oceans we kill ourselves

An open letter to Australian politicians and councillors - you are missing one very important environmental policy in your election promises

Wed 1 May 2019

OPINION: Pro-coal loons convinced mine means prosperity

OPINION: Pro-coal loons convinced mine means prosperity

'There are a lot of people getting rich on the back of mining projects but it's almost never the people who live in the vicinity of them.'

Mon 8 Apr 2019

Chinese ute’s Ford Ranger copycat fail

Chinese ute’s Ford Ranger copycat fail

At first glance this looks like a Ford Ranger Wildtrak ute but there’s a major query on its build quality.

Mon 1 Apr 2019

Ensure you get what you pay for

Ensure you get what you pay for

A reader checked the vehicle identification number of his new ute — and discovered all was not as it seemed.

'Children used for political agenda' in protests

premium_icon 'Children used for political agenda' in protests

HAVE we lost the plot by supporting children protesting instead of going to school, to put it bluntly why would anyone support truancy?

Big W shows 'serious thought' needed before opening business

premium_icon Big W shows 'serious thought' needed before opening business

WOOLWORTHS is considering closing up to 40 Big Ws as they aren’t paying their way, or are under performing. Business is a tough, unforgiving world.

Wed 27 Mar 2019

Support traders or local businesses will face closure

premium_icon Support traders or local businesses will face closure

I'm appealing to all local residents to support local takeaways, bakeries and restaurants, or risk losing them.

Mon 25 Mar 2019

OPINION: Right to freedom of speech depends on who says it

premium_icon OPINION: Right to freedom of speech depends on who says it

LETTER: Take Pauline Hanson, for example. The moment she entered parliament she has been fair game for one and all.

Thu 21 Mar 2019

Year 5 student's message to the PM: 'Stop pushing'

Year 5 student's message to the PM: 'Stop pushing'

A LISMORE student has written a heartfelt letter to Scott Morrison, telling him "this world is so much more than us”.

Mon 18 Mar 2019

Stay close, be kind: Gympie woman's NZ sister pens her shock

premium_icon Stay close, be kind: Gympie woman's NZ sister pens her shock

'Waking up this morning, it is hard to believe that this dreadful insult on decent human beings, has been performed by other humans.'

Sun 17 Mar 2019

High praise for 'vibrant, amazing' town that has it all

premium_icon High praise for 'vibrant, amazing' town that has it all

"DISHEARTENED” regional town given high praise which, "compared to many other regional centres, is simply amazing”.

Fri 15 Mar 2019

Lismore vs Ballina promises not comparing apples with apples

Lismore vs Ballina promises not comparing apples with apples

THOMAS George says he's worked hard for the Lismore electorate in government, while Ballina has had a Greens MP who has created an "extensive project backlog”.

YOUR SAY: The enigma of the Darling part II

premium_icon YOUR SAY: The enigma of the Darling part II

The second in writers series about the crisis engulfing the Darling River system

Wife of manhandled journo says Ben Franklin 'laughed'

premium_icon Wife of manhandled journo says Ben Franklin 'laughed'

AFTER her husband was "roughed up” by the Premier's security team at a media event, a North Coast woman has written an open letter to Ben Franklin.

How Ballina can get an ocean pool at zero cost to ratepayers

premium_icon How Ballina can get an ocean pool at zero cost to ratepayers

LOCAL professionals are committed to making this project a reality.

Tue 5 Mar 2019

Mum of murdered schoolgirl wants death penalty back

premium_icon Mum of murdered schoolgirl wants death penalty back

'For years I could not accept death penalty because of guilt that I would carry around. Could I have lived with that person's death on my soul?'

Sun 3 Mar 2019

Gympie man shares the dark creep, fear and pain of dementia

premium_icon Gympie man shares the dark creep, fear and pain of dementia

'Our deep pain was that we had to watch on as she endured that dark creep of confusion; observing the great fear in her eyes as her world collapsed'

Newer Older