Letters to the Editor

Wed 12 Feb 2020

The Greenies just don’t give a damn

premium_icon The Greenies just don’t give a damn

The Greens and climate change demonstrators who want the coal industry shut down should tell us what they expect these fellow workers do for a living.

Mon 3 Feb 2020

Transport Dept asked to step in on koala death stretch

premium_icon Transport Dept asked to step in on koala death stretch

The busy Gympie region road is a hot spot for koalas and tourists but the deaths are happening with brutal monotony, a letter write says.

Thu 30 Jan 2020

YOUR SAY: Australian Open water from China ‘outrageous’

premium_icon YOUR SAY: Australian Open water from China ‘outrageous’

How they can justify importing this product from China and charge such an inflated price is beyond me.

Tue 14 Jan 2020

YOUR SAY: ‘Adani will supply the fuel that burns us’

premium_icon YOUR SAY: ‘Adani will supply the fuel that burns us’

‘The state reluctantly approved Adani’s shonky Black-Throated Finch Management Plan’

Wed 25 Dec 2019

Minister’s comment doesn’t help veterans

premium_icon Minister’s comment doesn’t help veterans

Comments such as the minister’s are far from helpful in enabling ex-service personnel transition back into the general population

Thu 19 Dec 2019

OPINION: PM vacates while country is in national crisis

premium_icon OPINION: PM vacates while country is in national crisis

Not since when the Japanese were on our doorstep have we seen a prime minister vacate his nation and seek refuge in a foreign land.

Wed 18 Dec 2019

’I headed home in tears’: Single mum demeaned in supermarket

premium_icon ’I headed home in tears’: Single mum demeaned in supermarket

'As we walked along the aisle an old lady looked at my trolley and said 'yep another alcoholic smoker of a mother'.'

Mon 16 Dec 2019

'Has Lismore City Council gone mad?'

premium_icon 'Has Lismore City Council gone mad?'

AN "OLD racegoer" has slammed the council for its decision to cancel the public holiday for the Lismore Cup.

Mon 25 Nov 2019

Letter: Climate change action needed by government

premium_icon Letter: Climate change action needed by government

THE Federal government’s lack of policy and preventive action on climate change at a time when catastrophic fires are raging is pathetic.

Mon 18 Nov 2019

'It's time to act on climate change'

premium_icon 'It's time to act on climate change'

YOUR SAY: The east coast of Australia is on fire. People are understandably upset as their homes and livelihoods are endangered.

Thu 7 Nov 2019

Nursing shortage 'a well planned management strategy'

premium_icon Nursing shortage 'a well planned management strategy'

Resident raises concerns about ongoing problem plaguing our hospitals

Fri 25 Oct 2019

Wild dogs just as much an issue for farmers as the drought

premium_icon Wild dogs just as much an issue for farmers as the drought

"We need farmers so let’s take our hats off to them and the food they produce for us."

World owes much to press freedom

World owes much to press freedom

The world has much to thank the freedom of the press for, so don’t let it become victimised by petty bureaucracy.

Thu 24 Oct 2019

Would a Royal Commission into climate change be a start?

premium_icon Would a Royal Commission into climate change be a start?

It could be hard for its findings to be ignored, as the banking commission showed.

Sat 12 Oct 2019

‘People aren’t sheep, or are they?’

premium_icon ‘People aren’t sheep, or are they?’

‘The words of the internet are accepted all too readily by the gullible believers’

Thu 3 Oct 2019

Council’s taken my cereal and toast, now it wants my coffee

premium_icon Council’s taken my cereal and toast, now it wants my coffee

"THE new charges would suggest the residents are cash rich".

Fri 27 Sep 2019

Hypocrisy, thy name is conservative!

premium_icon Hypocrisy, thy name is conservative!

OPINION: Perrett, O'Brien, ScoMo and Trump are as bad as each other with their inconsistencies and flagrant hypocricy

Wed 25 Sep 2019

'Cows being slaughtered': Tragic reality of milk price wars

premium_icon 'Cows being slaughtered': Tragic reality of milk price wars

ONE Chronicle reader has described a tragic scene which show the impact low milk prices are having on our farmers

Mon 23 Sep 2019

Climate change-denying grandpa slams student 'riots'

premium_icon Climate change-denying grandpa slams student 'riots'

"MANY of these malcontents were young women who, in my opinion, would have been far better off attending to their needlework and cooking classes".

Fri 13 Sep 2019

Why Craig Foster pulled out of Lismore's Masters Games

premium_icon Why Craig Foster pulled out of Lismore's Masters Games

THE former Socceroos captain was due to lead his old team onto the field later this month.

Newer Older