Letters to the Editor

Wed 11 Sep 2019

Opinion: ‘Cherish life from conception to natural death’

premium_icon Opinion: ‘Cherish life from conception to natural death’

‘The proposed euthanasia legislation is linked to aged and palliative care, which is frightening’

Mon 26 Aug 2019

More Newstart will help more people into jobs

premium_icon More Newstart will help more people into jobs

Scott Morrison and at least most federal government MPs want unemployed Australians to get a job.

Sun 25 Aug 2019

‘Hey stranger, need a lift? Just take my ute’

premium_icon ‘Hey stranger, need a lift? Just take my ute’

A tourist to the Sunshine Coast was thrilled by the generous and trusting nature of a local who he had asked for directions.

Mon 19 Aug 2019

Adani protestors: Climate anarchists or freedom fighters?

premium_icon Adani protestors: Climate anarchists or freedom fighters?

READER: I have attended Adani-mine protests and I am proud of that.

Fri 16 Aug 2019

Respect key to growth and success of Magpies

premium_icon Respect key to growth and success of Magpies

'THERE are names that will never go down in the club's history books. But the 2019 playing group should be remembered as the group that stayed and fought.'

Sun 11 Aug 2019

OPINION: Most people want a secular Australia

premium_icon OPINION: Most people want a secular Australia

"People in this country have the freedom to practise whatever religion they want, but now Christians believe they should have special rights to discriminate”

Mon 29 Jul 2019

LETTER: Is climate change really to blame?

premium_icon LETTER: Is climate change really to blame?

'There are no full unmitigated truths that can prove the death of bush in the Girraween National Park has anything to do with climate change only assumptions.'

Tue 9 Jul 2019

Tax cuts were nothing but a cynical ploy to buy votes

premium_icon Tax cuts were nothing but a cynical ploy to buy votes

We have the most inexperienced Treasurer in memory in Josh Frydenberg who wouldn't know how to play Monopoly.

Mon 1 Jul 2019

If we stopped eating meat, would it really reduce emissions?

premium_icon If we stopped eating meat, would it really reduce emissions?

If we all stop slaughtering cattle and sheep in Australia based on today’s numbers, we'd have in excess of 26 million cattle to feed and 70 million sheep.

Mon 24 Jun 2019

'We believe in keeping our promises', despite election loss

premium_icon 'We believe in keeping our promises', despite election loss

NATIONALS hopeful Austin Curtin has confirmed his party will honour their election promises.

Reader: Freedom of speech in the Folau Furore

premium_icon Reader: Freedom of speech in the Folau Furore

'Israel Folau is copping stick from some for seeking public donations - but this issue is bigger than just Folau'

Mon 17 Jun 2019

Harsher punishments needed for drug dealers and smugglers

premium_icon Harsher punishments needed for drug dealers and smugglers

Sending them to jail does no good, because when they get out they just re-offend. I think the punishment should be made to fit the crime.

Mon 10 Jun 2019

Worms, flies, maggots and crickets: Is this future lunch?

premium_icon Worms, flies, maggots and crickets: Is this future lunch?

WHAT would you like for lunch? Meal worms, flies, maggots or crickets? Yes, it’s true. They may well be the food of the future.

Wed 29 May 2019

Doctor needed: Situation 'life threatening'

premium_icon Doctor needed: Situation 'life threatening'

CORAKI resident says elders have been "deserted and left for dead in their time of need”.

Mon 27 May 2019

Juvenile jail overcrowding 'the result of poor discipline'

premium_icon Juvenile jail overcrowding 'the result of poor discipline'

AUSTRALIA, open your eyes. The Four Corners program highlighted the result of years of turning a blind eye to proper discipline through parenting and schooling.

Thu 23 May 2019

There needs to be stricter laws on using gel blasters

premium_icon There needs to be stricter laws on using gel blasters

SO THERE’S now two reported incidents of gel blasters aimed at people. It makes one bristle at the thought of anyone’s eyes being damaged in any way.

Mon 20 May 2019

Why costs of not acting on climate change 'more concerning'

premium_icon Why costs of not acting on climate change 'more concerning'

At pre-polling in Toowoomba last week, this letter writer spoke to an LNP member who was concerned about how much acting on climate change will cost.

Tue 14 May 2019

Waiting for NBN? 'Be careful what you wish for'

Waiting for NBN? 'Be careful what you wish for'

"THE NBN service? Slow, unreliable, outdated and impossible to redress without hassling the provider every day."

Sun 12 May 2019

OPINION: I can do without watching a would-be PM cry

premium_icon OPINION: I can do without watching a would-be PM cry

I am not remotely interested in Mr Shorten's family, what his parents were or how they lived.

Fri 10 May 2019

‘This is what we feel when they walk out the door’

‘This is what we feel when they walk out the door’

"AS A partner of an interstate heavy vehicle driver my biggest fear every time he walks out the door is he won’t be coming home again."

Newer Older